Research & Innovation

Research Excellence

Dr. Connor Kerns and Dr. Kristin Laurin were awarded 2021 UBC Killam Research Prizes.

Dr. Luke Clark, Natalie Dalton, Dr. Stan Floresco, Dr. Liisa Galea, Alexander Terpstra, Dr. Rebecca Todd, Ryan Tomm and colleagues received UBC Health’s 2021 Health Innovation Funding Investment (HIFI) Awards.

Alex Cook, Dr. Lauren Emberson, Dr. Deborah Giaschi, Dr. Hee Yeon Im, Zahra Kheradmandsaadi, Dr. Janet Werker and colleagues are the recipients of a UBC Health Spring 2022 HIFI Award.

Dr. Samantha Dawson and Dr. Connor Kerns are 2021 Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR) Scholar Award recipients. Postdoctoral Research Fellow Dr. Katerina Rnic also received the 2021 MSFHR Research Trainee Award.

Dr. Samantha Dawson, Dr. Darko Odic, and Dr. Victoria Savalei received 2021 Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) Discovery Grants and Dr. Stan Floresco received an NSERC Research Tools and Instruments Grant.

Dr. Samantha Dawson and Dr. Daniela Palombo received a 2021 Catalyst Grant from the Women’s Health Research Institute.

Dr. Lauren Emberson, Dr. Kiley Hamlin, Dr. Alan Kingstone, and Dr. Jason Snyder received 2022 NSERC Discovery Grants. Dr. Emberson also received a Discovery Launch Supplement for her work in the Development of the large-scale neural networks in infancy.

Dr. Deborah Giaschi, Dr. Hee Yeon Im, Dr. Rebecca Todd and Dr. Daniela Palombo were awarded a 2022 Djavad Mowafaghian Centre for Brain Health Kickstart Grant for their work in pediatric brain research.

Dr. Kiley Hamlin received a Partnership Development Grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) to build large-scale collaborative networks in infant and behavioural research. Dr. Susan Birch, Dr. Frances Chen, Dr. Anita DeLongis, Dr. Paul Hewitt, Dr. Connor Kerns, Dr. Daniela Palombo, and Dr. Jason Rights received 2021 Insight Grants for their research as part of the 2020-21 SSHRC Insight Development Grant competition. Dr. Janet Werker and collaborators received a SSHRC Partnership Grant.

Dr. Noah Silverberg and his research collaborators received a 2021 Canadian Institute for Health Research (CIHR) Project Grant to further their research on graded exposure therapy for fear avoidance behaviour after concussion. Dr. Eric Kim was also awarded a 2021 CIHR Project Grant.

Dr. Jessica Tracy received the Society of Experimental Social Psychology’s 2021 Career Trajectory Award. This award celebrates scientific contributions made in the early-to-mid stages of a research career.